Meet the Director

Director Matt Snead

Director Matt Snead

Lt. Colonel Matt Snead was appointed director of the Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs by Governor Asa Hutchinson on February 10, 2015.

He is a 18-year veteran of the Arkansas Army National Guard, and continues his service as a traditional Guardsman. He has held a number of command and staff positions to include: platoon leader, company executive officer, company commander, and battalion S-3. He deployed in support of Operation Noble Eagle in 2002, and Operation Iraqi Freedom in 2007 earning the Bronze Star Medal.Matt Snead embraces his son Jackson after returning from Iraq in 2008.

Prior to his appointment as director, he served eleven years as a full-time Guardsman. As a full-time Guardsman he held positions as a battalion training officer, as the state public affairs officer, and as the first legislative liaison for the nearly 10,000 soldiers and airmen of the Arkansas National Guard.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Henderson State University, and a Master in Business and Organizational Security Management from Webster University. A fourth generation Arkansan, he and his three children live in Little Rock.

Assistant Directors

Assistant Director of Veteran Cemeteries

William (Bill) Wussick retired from the Air Force in 2009 after 28 years of service. He has been Manager of the Arkansas State Veterans Cemetery since July 2009. He has lived in Arkansas for over 30 years.

Assistant Director of Veteran Homes

Kathie Gately has over 30 years of experience in social work and advocacy for long term care patients in both the public and private sectors. She holds a Bachelor’s in social work from Arkansas State University. She served as administrator of adult protective services and the Director of the state's Long Term Care Ombudsman program.

Assistant Director of Veteran Services

Gina Chandler served in the U.S. Air Force in 1990-1992. Since 2008, Gina has served Veterans as a Veterans service officer for the Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs. In 2012, she was promoted to the Outreach Coordinator and in 2015 she became the first State Veteran Service Officer.

Former Directors:

Cissy Rucker May, 2012 - 2014
David Fletcher Feb., 2007 - May, 2012
James Miller Feb., 2005 - Jan., 2007
Nick Bacon Apr., 1993 - Feb., 2005
Hershel Gober Dec., 1987 - Apr., 1993
Grady Brown Feb., 1983 - Dec., 1987
Orval Faubus Sep., 1981 - Feb., 1983
Thomas Miller Mar., 1971 - Sep., 1981
Robert Boggan Feb.1967 - Feb., 1971
Freeman Mize 1960 - 1967
Carl Thompson 1955 - 1960
W. D. Kelley 1953 - 1955
W. G. Smith 1950 - 1953
Joe Hearne 1946 - 1950
B. A. Brookes 1942 - 1946
Claude Brown 1938 - 1942
Grady Forgy
John Wilson
John Steward